Young Natalians crowned 2017/18 Futsal Champions

The National Futsal League hosted by the South African Indoor Football Association (SAIFA) concluded its fixtures this past weekend with three matches in three cities around the country, namely, Proteaville Recreation Centre (Cape Town), Orlando Communal Hall (Soweto) and YMCA in Pietermaritzburg.

The focus was at the YMCA in Pietermaritzburg where Young Natalians FC were crowned the 2017/2018 National Futsal League Champions. On the day Young Natalians extended their lead at the summit by thrashing Maritzburg Hotspurs 9-3.

Young Natalians were in total control of the match and showed why they are the champions as they defended and attacked as a unit. With their number one choice injured, Gareth Simes stood in and did an excellent job and so did Kylen Pillay who came on late in the second half.

Other results: Western Province Eagles lost 5-6 to Cape Town Titans and OBC Chickens beat Tshwane City 6-2.


Western Province Eagles 5 � 6 Cape Town Titans

OBC Chicken 6 � 2 Tshwane City

Maritzburg Hotspurs 3 � 9 Young Natalians

The knockout cup competition is scheduled to take place in Pietermaritzburg from the 19 � 21 July 2018. The Awards ceremony will take place in the evening of 21 July 2018. More details will be circulated closer to the event.

Source: South African Football Association