Arab countries ban travel from southern Africa over Omicron

Published by

Several countries in the MENA region have issued new travel restrictions, banning travellers and suspending flights from a number of African nations amid the emergence of the new Covid-19 Omicron variant. The World Health Organization warned on Monday that the new Covid-19 variant posed a “very high” risk globally, despite uncertainties about the danger and contagion levels of the new strain. The UN health agency said the Covid strain first discovered in southern Africa was a “highly divergent variant with a high number of mutations… some of which are concerning and may be associated with im…

Read More