Monthly Archives: June 2016

Western Cape Education on 2016 National Senior Certificate examinations

With 110 days to go to the start of the 2016 National Senior Certificate (NSC) examinations, the next five months are the most important time in a learner's school career.It is therefore important that as a department, we do all that we can to assist o...

MEC Alan Winde congratulates Cape Town International Airport for winning air access international award

Cape Town International Airport has won a prestigious international award for the success of the region's air access initiatives.The airport was announced as the overall winner of the Routes Africa edition of the Routes 2016 Marketing Awards which took...

Statistician-General hands over 2016 Community Survey results to government

The Statistician-General of South Africa, Dr Pali Lehohla will release the results of the Community Survey 2016 (CS 2016) which will, among others, reflect on the 40 years of the country's performance on education, labour markets, service delivery, pov...

Address by the Minister of Home Affairs, Mr. Malusi Gigaba MP, at the launch of the Green Paper on International Migration at Freedom Park, Pretoria

Mr. Peter Sutherland, the United Nations Secretary General's Special Representative for International Migration, has described international migration, "as the moral, political and economic issue of our time."Migration is of course a moral issue, conce...

Minister Derek Hanekom appoints new members of Tourism B-BBEE Charter Council

The Minister of Tourism, Derek Hanekom, has announced the names of the new members of the Tourism B-BBEE Charter Council at its first meeting on 30 June 2016.

On 20 November last year, the Minister of Trade and Industry, Rob Davies, gazetted the Amended Tourism B-BBEE Sector Code to advance transformation in the tourism sector.

Tourism was the first sector to gazette the amended B-BBEE Code showing the commitment of tourism stakeholders to the empowerment and transformation the sector. It also expresses the commitment to work collectively to ensure that the opportunities and benefits of the sector are extended to black South Africans.

The tourism sector is required to appoint a Charter Council consisting of industry representatives from the public and private sectors, labour and small businesses across the tourism spectrum as described in the gazetted Tourism B-BBEE Charter to monitor transformation in the tourism sector.

The Charter Council will fulfil the following roles:

" Provide guidance on sector-specific matters effecting B-BBEE;

" Compile reports on the status of B-BBEE within the sector, and

" Share information with sector members, approved accreditation agencies, B-BBEE Commission, B-BBEE Presidential Advisory Council, the Line Minister and the Minister of Trade and Industry pertaining to B-BBEE in the sector.

The following Charter Council members have been appointed for a period of three (3) years, commencing on 30 June 2016:

1. Dr Vuyo Mahlati (Chairperson): National Planning Commissioner in the Presidency

2. Ms Shamilla Chettiar: Deputy Director General for Policy and Knowledge Services at the National Department of Tourism

3. Mr Blacky Komani: CEO of Tourvest Duty Free on the Ground

4. Ms Gail Westphal: General Manager of Gooderson Leisure

5. Mr Tshifhiwa Tshivhengwa: CEO of Federated Hospitality Association of South Africa (FEDHASA)

6. Mr Mohamed Baba: Managing Director at Ilios Travel

7. Mr Adriaan Liebetrau: CEO of Southern African Association for the Conference Industry (SAACI)

8. Mr Ravi Nadasen: Director Operations at Tsogo Sun

9. Ms Nyeleti Mushuana: CEO of Karibu Hotel & Conference Centre

10. Ms Mmatsatsi Ramawela: CEO of Tourism Business Council of South Africa (TBCSA)

11. Mr Duma Gqubule: Founder of KIO Advisory Services

12. Ms Heather Prinsloo: Former Divisional Director: Transformation for the City Lodge Hotel Group. She is now Human Resource Executive at City Property Administration

13. Mr Nicholus Maziya: Deputy Secretary General of South African Transport and Allied Workers' Union (SATAWU)

14. Mrs Lindiwe Sangweni-Siddo: Divisional Director: Operations at the City Lodge Hotel Group

Minister Hanekom said he was confident that the diverse and capable team would fast-track transformation in the sector.

"All stakeholders, including businesses, the public and associations in the tourism sector should use this collective to raise issues affecting them, and to share best practice models to ensure the tourism sector is in the forefront of transformation in South Africa," said Minister Hanekom.

Source: Government of South Africa.